Presentation after presentation – upon reflection

Malo e lelei

Since returning from collecting my data in Tonga, in a span of four weeks I have had to deliver 3 presentations about my PhD study. Despite the fantastic feedback received, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed. Of the 3 presentations, to date, I have only delivered one. The remaining two presentations however, has caused me to feel anxious. Preparing the presentations alone and thinking about the design, academic content and appeal to the audience feels overwhelming. I don’t know how some academics do this! I’m not even sure whether this is normal in academia LOL

Upon reflection, my anxiety is because I cannot physically see words on paper to add to the 90,000 words required for my doctoral thesis. Although I was able to write at a recent retreat however, compared to the number of words I was able to write towards the chapters previously and now, has made me feel this way.

Therefore, a reminder to self – no more presentations until next year LOL.

Thank you Lord for the opportunity and the abundant blessings!

Leave a Reply

