What to do first – ethics or proposal?

It took me about 6-7 months to complete the full research proposal. After several iterations of the research proposal, I was then able to attempt the ethics application. When I spoke with other doctoral students about which to do first, the proposal or the ethics, there was a variety in students’ responses. What worked well for me was the writing up of the proposal before I even looked at the ethics application. If i had started on the ethics application first, I would have struggled even more to complete the proposal. Having finished the proposal, many feedback sessions with my supervisors, and 4 iterations later, I not only completed and submitted the proposal but two weeks later, I submitted the online ethics application and attached all the supporting documents that were required.
Starting with ethics before the proposal may work for other people, however, I know for sure that this would not have worked for me.

One thought on “What to do first – ethics or proposal?

  1. Pingback: What to do first – ethics or proposal? | Dave Fa'avae's PhD Journey

Leave a Reply

